A palatal expander is a fixed appliance that widens the upper jaw while a child is still growing, which is why the age at which it is fitted matters more than almost anything else about it. No published source carries an expander fee, so the number that applies to your child is the one the treating orthodontist quotes in writing.
Palatal expansion is one of the few orthodontic treatments that depends on growth, which is why orthodontists watch for it early. In a narrow upper jaw the two halves of the palate can be separated while the growth plate between them is still open, and an expander is the appliance that does it. Once that window closes, the same correction is a different and more involved conversation. Ashburn sits in a county of 449,749 residents, about 25.6 percent of them under 18, and children here often arrive at the question through a general dentist's note or an early evaluation. This page sets out what an expander is, who is usually a candidate, what the consultation involves, and how the fee is quoted. We are an independent matching service, not a practice: we match you with licensed Ashburn orthodontists, and they assess, quote and treat.
| Job | Published 2026 range |
|---|---|
| Invisalign published case example | $7,000 fee, $5,600 covered, $1,400 balance |
| That example paid over 24 months | about $58/month |
| Braces without insurance, published ceiling | up to about $7,000 |
| Published overall range (second source) | $3,000 - more than $12,000 |
A palatal expander is a fixed appliance that fits against the roof of the mouth and widens the upper jaw. There are two common forms. A removable expander comes out, while a fixed one is cemented to the back teeth and turned at home with a small key on a schedule the orthodontist sets. The pressure it applies slowly separates the two halves of the upper jaw and opens the growth plate between them.
Children are usually referred because of a posterior crossbite, a narrow upper arch that is crowding the permanent teeth, or because the upper and lower jaws do not meet the way they should. Two practices can reasonably weigh the same case differently, which is why an examination matters more than a photograph sent by message.
Expansion is different from the rest of orthodontics in one important way: it uses growth rather than working around it. That is the whole reason the question is about timing. The appliance widens the jaw, and the treating orthodontist decides whether this child is the right candidate for it.
No published source carries a palatal expander fee, so this page does not state one. An expander is a component of a treatment plan rather than a standalone purchase, and the fee is quoted by the orthodontist who designs that plan. Ask for the appliance fee in writing, and ask whether it sits inside a Phase 1 plan or a later comprehensive plan.
The plan it belongs to does have published ranges. Comprehensive orthodontic treatment runs $3,000 to more than $10,000, and a second published source puts the overall range at $3,000 to more than $12,000. Where a dental plan covers orthodontics it typically pays about half the fee band: the published insurance shares are $1,500 to $3,750 of the $3,000 to $7,500 metal braces range, $1,000 to $4,750 of the $2,000 to $8,500 ceramic range, $1,500 to $3,500 of the $3,000 to $7,000 aligner range, and $3,500 to $9,250 of the $5,000 to $13,000 lingual range.
| Item | Published figure | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Palatal expander fee | Not published | Quoted by the treating orthodontist |
| Comprehensive orthodontic treatment | $3,000 - more than $10,000 | Second published source: $3,000 to more than $12,000 |
| Metal braces, full treatment | $3,000 - $7,500 | Insurance share reported at $1,500 - $3,750 |
| Braces paid privately | up to about $7,000 | Published ceiling without insurance |
Three questions settle the money. Is the appliance fee inside the quoted total or billed separately? If a second phase follows, is that quoted now or later? And does the plan treat the two phases as a single orthodontic benefit? A written fee schedule answers all three. Our cost guide sets out the published ranges in full, and the free matching form puts your request in front of licensed Ashburn orthodontists who quote in writing.
The consultation is a records and planning visit run by the orthodontist. Expect photographs, X-rays and either a digital scan or an impression, because the decision about expansion depends on what those records show about the growth plate and the bite.
The orthodontist examines the upper jaw, the width of the arch and the way the back teeth meet, then explains whether expansion is the right step now or whether the case should be reviewed again as the child grows. If an expander is recommended, the plan usually describes which type it is, how long it stays in, and how it is turned.
Money belongs in the same appointment. Ask for the appliance fee in writing, whether it is part of a Phase 1 or a comprehensive plan, and what happens if a second phase is needed later.
Belmont Ridge Road and Route 7 (Leesburg Pike) are the routes for this part of town, and the Dulles Greenway (VA-267) is the tolled run east toward the airport corridor. For an adult case, ask how many visits the plan needs and whether the office can schedule them in one block of the day rather than across the week.
Potomac Green is on Loudoun Water, the county utility, which publishes an annual drinking water quality report and answers on (571) 291-7880 (https://www.loudounwater.org/). There is no town utility in Ashburn. Give us the street address rather than the community name and the utility question settles itself.
Utility accounts: Loudoun Water · (571) 291-7880
What is the total fee, and what does it include (records, adjustments, retainers, removal)?
Is a retainer included in that fee, and what does a replacement cost?
How is the treatment time estimated for this case, and how often are visits?
What does my dental plan pay, and does it reset on a calendar year?
No published source carries an expander fee, so this page does not state one. The fee is quoted by the treating orthodontist and may sit inside a Phase 1 or comprehensive plan, and comprehensive orthodontic treatment is published at $3,000 to more than $10,000, with a second source putting the overall range at $3,000 to more than $12,000.
Expansion depends on the growth plate in the roof of the mouth being open, which is why most guidance points to a first evaluation around age seven. That visit is an assessment, and many children are reviewed again in six to twelve months. The orthodontist decides from records whether expansion is the right step for this child.
Expect pressure in the first days after each turn rather than pain, plus a little extra saliva or a change in speech while the mouth adapts. Those usually settle. Report a loose band or a broken appliance to the practice instead of adjusting it yourself.
Cost calculators, comparisons and checklists. No sign-up.
Estimate the range for a case in about a minute.
Every published appliance range, in one page.
What to bring and what to ask before you commit.
Ten questions on costs, timing and coverage.
Eight questions that point to an appliance path.
Estimator, coverage checker, financing, payment plans, retainer cost, value over time
Appliance selector, braces vs aligners, timeline, treatment and school-calendar planners
Practice questions, records and X-ray checklist, second opinion, smile check